Wholesome R.D. Mom

Making Nutrition a Way of Life

Blueberry Oat Cream Cheese Muffins

Leave a comment

10468109_321605334664458_9019343294175189561_n10358873_321605387997786_2887558395252568569_n

We sure do LOVE blueberries at our house. My son and I definitely reign supreme by being the largest consumers (and I’m going to point fingers at the baby I’m growing inside because it’s ridiculous just how many I will eat in one sitting right now)! Last week our family went blueberry picking at a local farm and came home with 9 pounds of delicious berries…..that does not include the multiple pounds that we ate while picking…..and not a single one of those will need to be frozen. This time of the year is truly my favorite for produce!…..and while we have bags of freshly picked blueberries heading into our kitchen my kids are itching for some blueberry muffins. Yummmmmmmmm!

photo 1

Once we got home from blueberry picking the kids and I threw on our aprons and started to bake away. My daughter is my kitchen side-kick. She loves to do everything from pouring in the ingredients, stirring, whisking and handling anything she can, just to get her hands dirty (I’m constantly telling the kids they need to wash their hands before cooking and not just after). My son, on the other hand, has designated himself as the taster. He used to love to cook and bake with me, but after my daughter came along and took over my son backed off a bit. I’ve been trying to think of ways that I can get him back in the kitchen. He loves to watch MasterChef Junior (I’m excited about the new series coming up) and I think that he would love to practice his ninja skills with a dull knife and some soft foods. Maybe I’ll have him help me with the cooking while my daughter helps me with the baking…..at least for a while…..until they both understand that there  is room in the kitchen for EVERYONE!

Ok, so back to the blueberry muffins…. These muffins are a great way to get in some whole grains by using whole wheat pastry flour (I buy the organic 365 version at Whole Foods) and old fashioned oats. The cream cheese topping really rounds out the lightly sweetened batter so don’t skip out. These muffins are not very sweet but we tend to like them that way. However, if you prefer a sweeter muffin please refer to my note at the bottom of the recipe for increasing the sugar.

We hope you enjoy them!

photo 2

Blueberry Oat Cream Cheese Muffins

Recipe adapted from http://www.food.com/recipe/better-blueberry-muffins-shape-magazine-432030

Makes about 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour (or you can use all purpose flour)
  • 1/3 c. granulated sugar (preferably unrefined and organic)
  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats (I stick these in a small food processor/blender to make the oats a little smaller and cook a little easier)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c. milk (your choice)
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 large egg (preferably organic and cage free)
  • 2 Tbsp oil (I tend to use almond or walnut when I bake, but you can use any neutral oil)
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. fresh blueberries 
  • 1/4 c. cream cheese at room temperature (you can use regular or light)
  • 1 Tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  • Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl (flour, sugar, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt).
  • Pour the milk and lemon juice into a medium bowl and let sit for a few minutes (you are making buttermilk).
  • Add the egg, oil, and vanilla extract to the newly made buttermilk and whisk until mixture is uniform.
  • Add the wet ingredients into the dry and stir just until incorporated, then gently fold in the blueberries
  • In a small bowl, whisk the cream cheese and maple syrup together.
  • Use your 1/4 measuring cup to fill a greased or lined muffin tin with batter.
  • Use a teaspoon to add a dollop of the cream cheese mixture into the center of each muffin (I use another small spoon to scrape the cream cheese off the teaspoon).
  • Bake for about 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the muffin (where there is no cream cheese topping) comes out clean. Let the muffins cool in the pan for a few minutes and then go ahead and let your begging children try one 🙂 and you can follow.
  • Store any leftovers in a sealed container in the fridge.

NOTE: These muffins are sweet enough for my family’s liking. However, if you favor a sweeter muffin, you may want to increase the sugar to 1/2 cup.

Additionally, I have substituted 1/4 cup Oat Bran for the old fashioned oats and still came out with 12 delicious muffins (thank goodness) so feel free to use Oat Bran if you prefer.

Also, if you have buttermilk on hand please feel free to use it in place of the milk and lemon juice. If you do not have buttermilk or lemon juice you can make buttermilk by using milk and apple cider vinegar instead (use 1 Tbsp vinegar per scant cup of milk)…..and this goes for any recipe.

I’d love to hear if you made this and what you thought about them! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

